WhatsApp, one of the best and widely used instant messaging app have recently rolled ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature which lets users delete messages and media that are sent 7 minutes and earlier. This is biggest update since the double blue tick, that delivered and read receipts. This new feature help users to delete mistyped message or mistakenly sent message to someone else. However people have more curious to read deleted WhatsApp messages. Are you one of them? Here is guide for you
In tech industry people are more likely to find tricks, something same happened with this latest feature of WhatsApp. Spanish Android blog, Android Jefe claimed that deleted whatsapp messages can be seen, the messages are present in android notification log regardless whether it has been deleted by sender.
What we found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system. So, it’s just a matter of entering that record to see the messages that the other person deleted, the blog said
So here are is what we are going to do, access the notification register and read the messages. Don’t worry if you feel difficult it is way too easy thanks to large developer comunity of Android. Let me guide you.
Methode 1: Third party App
As I mentioned above it is way too easy, download Notif Log notification history app from Google Play store.
Open the app and give it Notification access so that it will keep track of every whatsapp deletes messages in future. See above screenshot for reference. Next scroll to WhatsApp in this app, where you will find all messages. Here you can read deleted WhatsApp messages.
Method 2: Without third party app
To use this method your phone must have Android version 7.0+, that Nougot and above. Just long press on home screen then tap on Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification log you can access system notification log from here too.
Limitations to read deleted WhatsApp messages
The both methods works perfectly with android device. However there are some limitaions as below.
- The messages are stored as notification, so whenever notification log restarted the messages will be erased. Swiping the notification from upper notification bar doesn’t erase it.
- Only that messages will be stored which generates notification, that if you have muted a chat or group then notification won’t generate. This also include internet connectivity that if your device dosen’t receives notification before sender delets it due to no internet connectivity, then you can’t read deleted WhatsApp messages.
- Only first 100 characters of message will be visible only.
- Media files such as photos and videos cannot be retrieved